Lullaby

blog post

I’m blogging again! This is all so new to me, I don’t even know how to deal with it! In truth, I looove blogging, it’s what started me in the whole fashion area of sl, and creating. Without it, I wouldn’t be who I am today, or have the ambitions that I have now. It kinda sucks that I can’t do it as regularly as I would like. But.. I’ve been RP’ing lately in a gorean sim when I get the time as a free woman, and one thing i noticed is the lack of proper free woman styling ideas for SL Gor. There’s plenty for slaves, but for a proper free woman.. so very few. And a lot need them. I’ve seen some people around in SL gor that look like they’re right out of 2006. It’s just because this little niche is sooooo forgotten in sl, that well, this tends to happen. So I thought I’d make a quick post about Gor.

The location I am at right now is the RP sim that I go to when I have time. It’s called the Empire of Ar. It’s a BTB (By the books) sim, which basically just means that they go by the norms that can be found in the Gorean books. It’s also a paragraph roleplay sim, which is kinda awesome, because I’m a writing type person, the whole pew pew, shooting, and all that crap does nothing for me, and while we do wear meters, I’ve seen conflict take place through RP as well, which is refreshing. I guess in an rp community like gor that has been built on meters for years, it’s a lot to ask not to have meters, but at any rate, it’s really awesome to see a place not have to be ONLY about meters. If that makes sense. I’m rambling. Allons-y…… It also allows a dynamic story to be built by the rp’ers. You can get into politics, vote for a head of caste, campaign! So, it’s pretty flipping awesome. If you want to visit the Empire of Ar, just follow the slurl.

So now a bit about free women, dressing as one, and looking good in a BTB sims. At first, I rp’ed a slave, because I thought it was easier to dress, and look prettier, and while it’s true that it is, I used to look at the free women in the sim and being like… damn it! They get to have all the fun. Stuff happened, and I now rp a free woman, and my first thing to do was of course, cam all the people, and once that was done.. welp… my thought? ‘GODDAMN IT. THE SLAVES LOOK CUTER. FUCK YOU. Basically. But then I started to play around and I found out.. while yes, we’re limited on our shopping options, it doesn’t mean we can’t look fucking amazing. Points to take into account if you want to look awesome as a free woman:

  1. Get a good mesh gown. Guys, we’re in the mesh era. Stop with the flexi. Do me a favor and just delete all of it. You will not ever need it again. It looks cheap and dated. So toss it out. It’s ugly. Go to events like Fantasy Collective, Fantasy Gacha, and The Secret Affair, and Top Shelf. Events like that cater towards fantasy RP’ers. Gor sort of falls in this category look wise. This is a tip for anyone! Slaves, free women, free men, all of you. FLEXI IS NOT AN OPTION. EVER. Junbug is a good store to check out for women, fateplay has the GOT Lenna dress that also works well for gor, The White Armory. Many gowns that are made in sl even work. You’re really not at a disadvantage if you know how to style yourself.
  2. Get a good undershirt. Being a free woman means no mesh body unless you want to limit yourself greatly. I learned that fast. I normally wear the Lucrezia shirts from Arwen’s Creations. I don’t really like her gowns most of the time, but I do love the undershirts that she sells, they sell them in lights and darks pack, I bought both of them and will often play around, though most of the time I tend to stick with the black undershirts.
  3. ACCESSORIZE!  Free women normally wear tons of jewelry (depending on the caste and what they can afford) to set themselves above the rest, and above slaves, and look better. Slaves normally didn’t wear as much, unless given it by their Masters. I tend to break this rule as a slave because.. pretty. BUT ANYWAYS. go crazy with it! Things to stay away from: Chokers. A free woman would NEVER wear anything that would resemble a collar. First, there’s pride, Secondly, there’s fear of an actual collar. SO keep that in mind. If it looks like a choker, toss it out, and don’t wear it. Veils are very important too, and there are not veils that are mesh out there. I’m a total anti flexi crusader though, so I made my own for the Gorean Gacha event, and will be on sale at the main store soon, and are available at the event now. Don’t be afraid to play with jewels. Have fun with them!
  4. don’t show skin. The most you can show is the eyes, and your hands. This also means you don’t have need for shoes. Just wear a lower body alpha! Voila, problem gone. No need to spend hours picking shoes, they’re just implied. No ankles showing, no shoulders. Which sucks, if it weren’t for undershirts, you’d have literally no clothing in Gor. But.. thank goodness for undershirts, now our options are vast!

So those are my main tips for dressing up as a Free woman, and here are the credits! I hope you found this useful, or at least a little bit, if you play around in gorean sims. Until later!

Credits:

Hair: Magika [01] Reading by Sabina Gully
Skin: -Belleza- Lola Med 3 R by Shyla Diggs for Winter Trend Fair
Eyes: {Dead Apples} Twinkle Eyes – Cream by Soleil Reid
Freckles: {Dead.Apples} Ari – Heavy Freckles – Face (Tintable) by Soleil Reid
Eyebags: Nox. Eyebags [dark] by Olyvia Stratten
Flowers: =Zenith=gypsy divine wreath (Pink & Gold)Head part rigged by Miffyhoi Rosca @ The Secret Affair
Tiara: .Keystone. Woodlander Headpiece {Gold} by Aymee Monk
Veil: Wimey: Mystique Veil II RARE At Gorean Gacha by Sash Arabello
Necklace: [The Forge] Harvest Moon, Gold by Deccan Arida @ The Secret Affair
Undershirt: {AS} Lucrezia Undershirt (Opaque) Black by Arwen Serpente
Dress: *{Junbug}* Midnight Fae [Blush] – XS ULTRARARE by Juno Matel
Pose: by PDA (no longer in business. Sadface.)

One thought on “Lullaby

  1. Pingback: Lullaby | Second Life Fashion Addict

Leave a comment